International Travel Grant

AAPOS & Children's Eye Foundation of AAPOS Miller International Travel Grant

International Travel Grant

The application cycle for the 2020 AAPOS Annual Meeting is now closed. It will open in May 2020 for the AAPOS 2021 Annual Meeting.

The International Affairs Committee of AAPOS and the Children's Eye Foundation of AAPOS offer a yearly International Travel Grant to encourage broad international participation in the Annual Meeting of the American Association for Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus. A grant has been established to provide financial assistance for a pediatric ophthalmologist residing outside of North America to attend the AAPOS Annual Meeting. 

Electronic applications are solicited yearly in May and previous applicants are encouraged to re-apply and re-activate previous applications. The grant includes a reimbursement not to exceed $2.000.00 US dollars for travel related expenses and a waiver of the AAPOS Annual Meeting.

Selection criteria for candidates of this Travel Grant include the following:

  1. Must have adequate command of the English language to benefit from the Annual Meeting
  2. Does not have, and cannot obtain, the financial resources to attend the AAPOS meeting and has not previously attended an AAPOS Annual Meeting
  3. Is in a position that will allow him/her to share knowledge gained with colleagues, to train others and/or is committed to prevention of childhood blindness
  4. Has already demonstrated an interest in or adequate knowledge of pediatric Ophthalmology and strabismus as demonstrated by special training (e.g., fellowship) or by having at least 75% of his/her clinical practice comprised of pediatric ophthalmology and strabismus
  5. Preference will be given to candidates who come from an underserved area and to those who are members in good standing of his/ her local ophthalmological society

Candidates must be supported by a written recommendation from at least 2 AAPOS members who can attest to the above criteria.

Completed applications must be submitted by June 14, 2019. The successful grant awardee will be notified by August 2019.

Previous grant recipients discuss their experience at the AAPOS Annual Meeting

Past International Travel Grant Awardees


  • May May Choo, FRCS- Malaysia
  • Thi Que Anh Vu- Vietnam


  • Anuradha NN Ganesh- Oman
  • Alketa Ajazi Tandili-Albania
  • Mohammad Mostafa Hossain-Bangladesh


  • Maria Laura Curutchet, MD-Argentina
  • Mark Roland Jacoby, MD-South Africa
  • Chinyelu Nkemdilim Ezisi, MD- Nigeria
  • Satenik Gagikovna Agagulyan, MD-Russia


  • Israr Ahmed Bhutto, MD-Pakistan
  • Jitendra Nenumal Jethanim, MD- India
  • Ibrahim Ondeko Ndale Matende, MD- Kenya
  • Teresita de Jesús Méndez Sánchez, MD-Cuba
  • Rosa María Naranjo Fernández, MD- Cuba


  • Muhammad Nazmul Haque Kallol, MD-Bangladesh
  • Srijana Adhikari, MD -Nepal
  • Kateryna Alimivna Fedchuk, MD -Ukraine
  • Ngoc Quang, DO-Vietnam
  • Olubunmi Temitope Bodunde, MD-Nigeria


  • Dr. Adedayo Omobolanle Adio, Nigeria


  • Dupe Ademola-Popoola, MBBS –Nigeria
  • Dechen Wangmo, MD- Bhutan


  • Ahmed Mohamed Fahmi, MD-Sudan